Welcome to the Hyde County Soil & Water Conservation District


The District is a governmental subdivision of the State; a public body corporate and politic organized in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 139 of the General Statutes of North Carolina and is subject to the powers and restrictions as set forth in G. S. 139. Under this law the District has the responsibility of conserving soil, water, and related natural resources within the District boundary. The District board is made up of five supervisors.
  • J.W. Spencer, Chairman (elected)
  • Darren Armstrong, Vice Chairman (elected)
  • Earl O'Neal, Secretary / Treasurer (appointed)
  • Daren Hubers, Member (elected)
  • Chad Spencer, Member (appointed)
The board meets monthly to handle current business and stay up to date on environmental matters. Annual and long-range programs of conservation and development within the District boundaries are developed and carried out with the assistance of local, state, and federal agencies.


What can the District do for you?

The District implements both state and federal programs to assist in installing best management practices with the goal of protecting our natural resources.  The Hyde Soil & Water Conservation District also offers environmental education programs and resources to public, private, and home schools as well as to civic groups and organizations.  Contact us today to find out more about the programs and services we offer.